State :: Jurisdiction :: Sale
You must be logged in to view and purchase tax sale lists. Login now, or sign up.
Image courtesy of
Texas is a redeemable deed state and has the highest return of any lien or redeemable deed state at 25% per six months for non-homesteaded and non-agricultural properties. There are 254 counties in Texas. The larger counties have tax sales 4 times a year and counties with really large populations may even have a tax sale every month. Some counties also have over the counter deeds available. As with all other redeemable deed states, you must physically attend the tax sale, however Texas counties also require that you register in advance of the tax sale and have a bidders statement in order to participate in the tax sale. The bidders statement is a statement signed by the county assessor-collector attesting to the fact that you do not owe any county, municipal or school taxes in that taxing jurisdiction. Travis County requires that you request a bidders statement at least 5 days before the tax sale. Once you get a bidders statement from Travis County, it is good for 90 days. The Travis County tax collector also has a lot of good information on their web site for bidders including a due diligence guide, a video explaining the tax sale process, tax sale information, and tax sale lists. You can even sign up to receive notices of tax foreclosure sales by e-mail. For most of the other counties the tax sales are handled by private law firms. The redemption period is 2 years for homesteaded (owner occupied residential) and agricultural property, and 6 months for all other properties. The redemption penalty is 25% and the penalty is paid on the total amount paid for the deed, not just the minimum bid amount. The minimum bid consists of delinquent taxes, penalties and cost of the sale. All this makes Texas an excellent state for tax deed investing.Successful bidders must pay in full at the time of the sale, or within a given time period; failure to do so will result in penalties of up to 25% of the value of the property plus the cost of resale. Personal checks, money orders, and cashiers checks (with proper ID) are accepted for payment; cash and credit cards are not.All bidders must be registered before the sale. In order to bid for another person or entity, documentation of the bidder’s authority to do so must be presented to the officer conducting the sale. Purchasers will receive a “tax resale deed”, which is without warranty, and will have a legal right to the property during the redemption period. . For the smaller counties that do not require the bidder’s statement of no taxes owed before the sale, the purchaser must furnish a statement signed by the county tax assessor stating that the purchaser has no known delinquent taxes owed to the county or any of it’s taxing authorities within a couple of days of the sale. Since a property could be subject to different taxing authorities, such as the county, school district, or city, the purchaser may be responsible for additional tax liens as well as current taxes on the property.Many Texas counties have tax information online, but to find information on the tax sale you will need to contact the legal firm that is handling the sale. Some of the larger counties will use both law firms and have more than one tax sale going on at the same time.For a complete and detailed program on how to invest in Texas tax deeds for maximum profit, I recommend the home study course by Texas Attorney Darius Barazandeh. The name of the program is Texas Houses for Pennies. It is a step-by-step guide on how to buy Texas tax deeds. In addition to telling you how to get information on tax sales, this program tells you how to research tax sale properties in order to minimize risk and maximize profits. For more information about Texas Houses for Pennies II, the latest version of this top rated Texas tax sale course and workbook guide, go to http://www.taxlienlady.com/.
Summary courtesy of
Texas Codes Annotated, Tax Code, Title 1, Chapter 32, "Tax Liens and Personal Liability," Chapter 33, "Delinquency," and Chapter 34, "Tax Sales and Redemption." The sale is to the highest bidder that is willing to tender an amount that is less than the lesser of the market value of the property as specified in the warrant or the total amount of taxes, penalties, interest, costs, and other claims for which the warrant was issued. (Sec. 34.01, Sec. 34.02). The owner of real property subject to sale may file with the officer charged with the sale a written request that the property be divided and that only as many portions be sold as necessary to pay the amount due against the property (Sec. 34.01i)
Need help determining the value of your
Search for assessment values and any
additional property information provided by the taxing
Determine the state of the title
associated with the property your interested in.
Search property records using the link provided.
Use the link below to help determine the
location of the property and any accompanying zoning
Looking to resell the property?
Determine the approximate "market value" by looking up what
other properties have sold for in the immediate area.
If you need legal advice
laws or to initiate a foreclosure process,
contact the local attorney listed
If you own a property
tax lien and/or deed investing, or need help
evaluating a property, contact the
realtor below. He/she is experienced in dealing
with tax lien & deed
listed and you need one, or would like to become
Realtor, learn more
If you would like to invest
Jurisdiction, but do not have the time to attend
in person, contact our local
investment liaison(s). He/she is an experienced
tax lien & deed investor and can
help. (Note: Tax Sale
Resources does not partner with, or
guarantee validity of agents credentials. All
arrangements must be made
between you and the agent. Fees are determined
by the individuals.)
None listed and you need
one, or would
like to become our Local Investing Liaison,